Back-to-school specials = Christmas stocking stuffers?

Life Balance

Nora and Tim help you find balance when dealing with a stressful debt situation. Learn how to manage stress and enjoy travel without breaking the bank.

Back-to-school specials = Christmas stocking stuffers?

• Comments 2

My fellow Life Balance blogger, Nora Dunn, published a post a couple of weeks ago on "5 Reasons Why You Shouldn't do Your Christmas Shopping Early."

Back-to-school specials = Christmas stocking stuffers?We didn't plan it this way, but I'm here to give you the other side of the argument.

So even though I liked her post, I'm going to suggest five reasons you should do your Christmas shopping early.

1. Buy on Sale

When you do your holiday shopping at the holidays, you're playing along with a giant marketing strategy designed to get you to part with the most dollars possible. I'm not opposed to marketing on the whole (it's how I make my living), but I don't want to be that shopper who's padding the retailer's profit margins. When you buy early, you can buy on sale -- even if its crayons from back-to-school that you'll put into the kids' stockings come Christmas.

2. Find Something Different

Nora raises the good point that, if you buy too early, some of the people on your list will buy for themselves whatever it was you got for them. My way to counteract this is to try to find something unusual but appropriate for my loved ones. Maybe you find a book that you know your mother will enjoy, but would probably never come across on her own. Maybe you find something (or make something!) handmade that Dad will love, but that couldn't be replicated in any store. In my experience, thoughtful gifts like those tend to make a much better impression than just another sweater or pair of socks.

3. Free Yourself from Pressure in December