As consumers, we are constantly overpaying for services.  We are all being ripped off on a daily basis.  You don't believe me?  Here's an example.  I work as a software engineer and am a self-proclaimed technology junkie.  If my computer needs repairing or upgrading, I do it myself.  If I need more memory in my computer, I go to the local electronics store, buy the part, and install it myself.  Once I walk in my front door, the actual process only takes about 10 minutes - and that's counting the time it takes me to take off my shoes.  Imagine my thoughts as the cashier told me at the time of my purchase that their technicians would be happy to install it for the low price of $60.  Huh?  I felt ripped off for just listening to the offer. 

What it comes down to is that you pay for people to perform a service that either you don't know how to do, or you would rather not do.  Another good example is changing the oil of your car.  As mentioned, I'm a technology junkie, but when it comes to engines, I'm out of my comfort zone.  The cost of the replacement oil is a fraction of the cost of the service.  The rest is paying someone do perform a service I don't know how to do.   

The good news is that you can use this knowledge to gain yourself some extra income.  What skills do you have that others would pay for?  What sort of thing do you enjoy doing that others would pay for? 

My wife is a preschool teacher, so she is home during the summer.  Since school is out, there are a lot of working parents that are looking for child care during the day.  Getting a day-care license can require some work, but a quick call to the appropriate government office revealed that if you are watching the children of one family, no license is needed. Thus, she has been able to earn some money during the summer months by doing daycare for a family in the neighborhood.