My Journey out of Debt

Featured customers currently enrolled in a CareOne Debt Relief Plan, share journey to become debt-free; hear how they juggle family, finances, and more.

New Year, New Financial Goals

Rate This
  • Comments 5

Some people make New Years resolutions. As an exercise instructor I see this peak hit every year from January until mid February, and then it dies out completely by March. 

The mistake, I usually find, is that the resolution is too big to attain. 

New Year, New Financial GoalsFor example, I might hear someone say, "My resolution is to loose 100 pounds." They go to the gym every day for about a month then stop going. A more realistic resolution might be to loose one - two pounds a week with a long-term goal of 100 pounds. 

Instead of going to the gym everyday, they go 3 - 5 times a week, but do it consistently. The difference? The difference is the reality of sticking to your plan in order to stick to your resolution. 

The same can be said for paying off credit card debt. You owe $15,000.00 that you don't have.  Under the Care One DMP, you are given a monthly goal per month to get the debt paid down over a certain number of years. This is attainable and certainly better than saying "My resolution is to pay off $15,000.00," with no help, planning, or steps to get you there.    

While on the DMP, I didn't make any resolutions, but I did make financial goals. My thought process was to continue paying down my debt, save a small amount every month, and try to build healthy financial habits along the way. 

I'm not a financial advisor, but I'd like to share some financial habits I developed while paying down my debt that I still use to stay debt free:

Make your monthly payment. If you can't do anything else on this list, at least continue to make your payment to Care One.  I know some months are more difficult than others, but paying down your debt should be your first financial priority.