My Journey out of Debt

Featured customers currently enrolled in a CareOne Debt Relief Plan, share journey to become debt-free; hear how they juggle family, finances, and more.

Laying the Foundation

• Comments 2

In my blog entries this month, I've been talking about my goals for 2011, and changes my wife and I are making in our daily lives in order to accomplish these goals. 

In order to be successful, these behavioral changes have to become habits.  

Some experts say that it takes about four weeks to form a habit, although I'd bet that varies from person to person. 

Until that habit really kicks in, we need to somehow keep ourselves going with these new behaviors, so we've come up with some tricks to help us.

Laying the FoundationObvious reminders:  When I get home, I now put my workout bag in an obtrusive place inside the front door.  I don't care if I trip over it. As I'm falling on my face for the third time that night, that bump on my forehead will say to me, "Hey, buddy, don't forget to go work out tomorrow." 

From a budgeting point of view, we have an envelope that we put our weekly entertainment funds in.  When the money is gone, we stay home.  This envelope is a large 10x12 manila envelope with "FUN" written in bright red marker, and it's stuck on the refrigerator door with a magnetic clip.

Schedule it:  If I wait until I get home to decide what to make for supper, I may find that I don't have the right ingredients to make anything.  If you have your meals planned, and make sure you have everything to make it, you're ready to go.  I have a list on my refrigerator that has potential meals that I bought supplies for during that week's grocery shopping trip.  That way I know what I've got the ability to cook at all times. This will help prevent us from getting take-out because we don't have the right ingredients to cook at home.