My Journey out of Debt

Featured customers currently enrolled in a CareOne Debt Relief Plan, share journey to become debt-free; hear how they juggle family, finances, and more.

A Debt-Free Graduate's Decision

• Comments 3

A Debt-Free Graduate's DecisionThe last three years have been great!  Being debt free, I've been able to save a bit toward retirement, travel, and things I've needed, without worrying about where money will come from, etc. 

I have recently made a decision, however, that will change my financial future, and that is to go to law school.

I've wanted to go to law school since I graduated from college 18 years ago.  At the time, however, I had some student loans and wanted to get them paid off.  Although I love my job, there is no opportunity for advancement because it is family-owned and operated, and I'm ready for a change. 

After hearing horror stories of students graduating from law school with over a hundred thousand dollars of debt and no job prospects, I realized I needed to do some thinking and planning before taking the plunge. 

There are many personal reasons why one should or shouldn't go back to school, law school or not, and here are the reasons for my decision.

1.  I don't plan to work for "big law."  Many law school forums talk about the dismal job opportunities for lawyers that graduate from law schools not listed in the top 20 according to U.S. News Rankings.  I already have a friend who is a practicing attorney in California and we will be starting a firm together.  Since I know I'll have some type of work waiting for me, it's worth going.