Financial Education; What we Owe Our ChildrenBased on the title of this post you would assume that I am a well-intentioned Mom trying to pass along all of the smart financial tips I am learning while enrolled in my CareOne Debt Relief Services Debt Management Plan

Nope.  Don't have kids.  Not sure when/if we will. 

So I know what you're thinking, "who is she to tell us how to raise our kids?"  Well, I may not have children of my own but I was a kid once and I have nieces and nephews that I have watched grow up throughout the years. 

I am no expert, but my experiences with debt have left quite the impression on me so I have a pretty strong opinion on doing what we can to better prepare our children for the responsibility of managing personal finances. 

What do you remember about your statistics class in High School?  I remember that the kid that sat behind me knew all the answers so that is who we cheated off of for tests. 

What about your senior year in High School, anything stick out about your History class that year? 

I remember taking a "Life" class my Senior Year and we had to pretend we got married, carry around an egg like it was our kid and then discuss what we learned about "real life" from that.  Huh? 

You know what I think I WOULD have remembered......

• Someone talking to me about APR's on credit cards.
  • Someone (besides my parents who of course knew nothing at that time) telling me what it meant to own a credit card and the pros and cons of using them.
  • Having a credit score explained and why it would be so important in my future.
  • And I sure would have remembered if someone told me how much a pair of shoes really cost if you put it on a credit card and didn't pay it off the same month!

To me, the right time to teach our kids about money and saving is as early as they can learn it.