How to Save Money This Winter With Warming Soups and Stews

Savvy Spending

Savvy Spender knows how to pinch a penny and about being on a budget. She has learned great ways to save money on everyday expenses.

How to Save Money This Winter With Warming Soups and Stews

• Comments 4

It's about this time of year when the mind begins to think about hibernating.  

How to Save Money This Winter With Warming Soups and StewsIs it just me or does this winter seem even colder than last year?  

I have decided to refuse to leave my apartment for anything other than a warm, satisfying meal.  

But there is one thing that is better than a warm satisfying meal at someone else's house... one in your own home.

For me, the typical January means that purse strings are tight and I want to eat comfort food. While I was a student in Scotland, this meant going out to pubs and getting some good 'pub grub.'

After the first meal or two, I realized that even though I was not eating in a fancy restaurant, the prices add up quickly. So I got crafty and began to recreate pub food at home.

Pubs and restaurants serving comfort food often use lower cost cuts of meat or in-season vegetables to save money, and using the freshest ingredients helps to improve the taste.  

The amazing thing is that you too can save money at home by doing this.

Throughout the winter season, I buy different cuts of meat depending upon what is on sale that week. The tougher cuts, such as lamb shanks, cubes of stewing meat or pork shoulder, and less commonly bought items, such as chicken thighs, are often reduced.

These items are cheaper because the cooking preparations needed to get the most out of them are longer and slightly less convenient for those cooks who want an instant meal.

However, they are perfect for those of us who plan ahead.