A Straight Talk on Debt

A Straight Talk on Debt gives you the real deal on debt, straight from our employees and personal finance experts. Learn more about debt relief plans and how to be financially fit.

Summertime and the Livin’s Easy

• Comments 2

In 1972, "School's Out" became Alice Cooper's first major hit single and it eventually climbed to #7 on the Billboard Hot 100 pop singles chart.

The song was referring to school's out for summer.

Summertime and the Livin’s Easy On May 19, 2010, in my personal life, school was out for, well, forever. At least for now. I graduated from Towson University with a double major in e-Business and Marketing, rewarded myself with a vacation to Panama and Florida, and then officially entered "the working world."

In the next few years I'll consider heading back to the classroom for an MBA. For now, it's just a hectic routine of work, work, and more work. How did this happen? On the same day that I graduated from college, I signed myself up for no more summer vacations. So, how does one continue to enjoy the summertime and make sure that the livin's easy?

Right now, I'm single and don't have any kids, so am looking at vacations, stay-cations, and much more for my summer plans.

Some of the activities which cost little or no money at all include:

• Parks and Recreation Centers. To be honest, I can't remember the last time I went to the park, but I know that it hasn't been recently. Take a Frisbee, a football, some snacks, and a few friends and you're good to go for an afternoon. Head over to recreation centers to play basketball, tennis, or racquetball, among other sports for free or a nominal fee. I'm definitely going to make it out to the park this summer.
  • City Pool. When it gets hot, there's nothing that I'd rather do more than jump into a nice cold pool. Unfortunately, I don't have a pool where I live, but there are community pools nearby - something worth diving into!