Single and Settling In

Single life has its own unique challenges, personally and financially. Hear how these bloggers are making the single life work for them.

Tax Time Doesn't Have To Be Painful!

• Comments 3

Every year I listen to folks moan and groan about having to do their taxes.  It doesn't have to be that way.  I know as a single person my finances are not too difficult to work with, but what I found out a few years ago is that if you work with someone that can help you understand the ins and outs of filing, you can actually benefit from it.  First and foremost - I am no expert in taxes and everything I have done as it relates to taxes and filing works for me, and I in no way shape or form am giving anyone advice on what to do - just my opinion!  With that said, a few years ago I decided to pay an accountant to do my taxes each year.  I liked the idea of having someone know my financial situation year after year and guide me through certain periods of my life as I continued to grow financially.  Best thing I ever did.  Worth the little I spend to have it done, and now have gained a great relationship with this particular accountant. I am comfortable contacting them for advice on various situations, and they know enough about me know to guide me in the right direction Couple of things that I realized helped me each year:

• Modify withholding. In the long run, for me, I prefer to have more taxes taken out of my paycheck then less. I would rather be expecting a return, than sweating if I am going to have to pay after filing. Others prefer to have more in their check, and try to "break even". You know I'm not big on gambling, so I take the safe bet. Have someone work with you to figure out what works best for you when completing state and federal forms. This will save you the headache and unpleasant surprises come tax time.