A great way to meet people at college and to find a group of friends is by rushing a sorority or a fraternity. About 40% of American University's students go Greek. There are seven sororities for girls and nine fraternities for the guys, and it is obvious that they know how to have fun.

One of my friends here, Sam, is a sophomore and is rushing this fall. I am enjoying watching her sorority sisters decorate her room each day, making her feel really special. 

If I sat here and didn't tell you I was jealous that would be a lie! I want people to give me special attention and to want to get to know me. I want to have a group of friends who all have a common interest. Although I am involved in many aspects of school life, as a freshman I am still trying to figure out where I fit socially. I have become friends with many of Sam's sisters and they are some of the nicest people I have met so far. 

I was excited that I found a group of people I really liked. I was thinking that I would definitely consider rushing a sorority until my boyfriend, Will, provided a little bit of a reality check.  When I first told him I was thinking of rushing in the spring he didn't sound that excited. Confused, I asked him why? He helped me realize that I was not thinking this through.

Of course there was the concern about my ability to commit to sorority life and having to attend required meeting and events. But then he reminded me that a sorority costs money. I hadn't thought about this until I started asking a few questions.  

It costs $200 a semester to be a part of a sorority. And initiation costs $600. While I do have a job, it would really limit my spending money because so much of my money would be going to the sorority. That would be almost 30 hours or 6 weeks of my job just to pay each semester's dues. I do not want to limit myself and stop myself from doing something I really want to do, but the dollars definitely matter.