When I graduated from college, I had a hard time finding a job that dealt with my writing degree.  There were no entry-level positions in my area and being that I was already working part-time, I wanted something that would supplement my writing and put more cash in my wallet.

I did some research and found several companies that were looking for freelancers to write blog posts for their community websites.  I took the first opportunity I could, because the position would give me the exposure I wanted, the experience I could use, and the money I needed.  This was my first experience with freelance writing and I have been doing it for over a year. 

When it comes to being an independent contractor like a freelance writer, you need to keep a few things in mind.  Is it legitimate?  Does it pay?  Will you get the exposure and experience you desire? 

Legitimacy: Making sure that the company you're working for is legitimate is an important part of your freelancing career. I actually knew someone who worked for the company I was going to write for; therefore, I knew that it was a legitimate business. If you write for someone you know nothing about, they could steal your work and not pay you. It's important to research every company you work with.

Pay: If you're going to freelance, you need to make sure that you get paid for your work. The real point of freelancing is to work independently while making money - some people live off of being an independent contractor - so it's important that you're compensated for your work. Usually, you will get paid per assignment; so as long as you complete your work, you should get paid.